Skip to Content

Master’s in Education in Reading Education Certification Options

Students in the Master’s in Reading Education Program with Reading Specialist Certification are eligible for state of Texas certification upon successful completion of the below requirements.


Reading Specialist Certification:

  • Successfully complete 10 reading program courses

Required Classes

RDG 5310: Teaching Literacy with Children’s & Young Adult Literature

RDG 5320: Foundations of Literacy Instruction

RDG 5322: Teaching Reading in the Elementary and Middle Schools

RDG 5326: Developmental Literacy in the Middle and Secondary Schools

RDG 5340: Connecting Reading and Writing in the Classroom

(can take as part of the Central Texas Writing Project in the summer)

RDG 5345: Assessment-Driven Literacy Instruction

RDG 5331: Literacy Methods for Linguistically and Culturally Diverse Students

RDG 6330 Language Acquisition and Development for Literacy Instruction

RDG 6336 Reading Specialist Internship I:  Designing and Evaluating Literacy Research in Schools

RDG 6333 Reading Specialist Internship II: Designing and Evaluating Literacy Professional Development in Schools.


  • Present the Office of Educator Preparation (OEP) documentation of two years teaching experience.
  • Apply for and successfully complete TExES (Texas Examinations of Educator Standards™ 151 Reading Specialist).