Skip to Content


Tomás Rivera Award Director


Nancy Valdez-Gainer  

Nancy serves as the director of The Tomás Rivera Mexican American Children’s Book Award. She is currently a lecturer at Texas State University in the department of Curriculum & Instruction. She was born and raised in Austin, Texas and is a proud Chicana whose parents and grandparents were migrant farm workers. Nancy spent 18 years in Austin ISD as an elementary ESL, bilingual and a dual language teacher and as a Language Arts District Curriculum Specialist.Her research interests include culturally sustaining teaching, multicultural children’s literature, writing workshop and parent engagement.  

National Committee

Denise Davila, Assistant Professor, University of Texas - Austin
Segio Martinez
Sergio M. Martínez, Professor, Texas State University
Patricia Enciso, Professor, The Ohio State University
Oralia Garza de Cortés, Latino Children's Literature Advocate

In Loving Memory

headshot of Rolando Hinojosa-Smith
Rolando Hinojosa-Smith, Member Emeritus

Regional Committee

Are you interested in Latino children’s and young adult books? Join the Regional Committee. Contact Director, Nancy Valdez-Gainer at

  • Luz Alvarez-Simms
  • Don Bos
  • Meaghan Buchanan
  • Sylvia Flores
  • Juanita Galaviz
  • Diana Garcia
  • Jesse Gainer
  • Mari Garza
  • Gilberto Lara
  • Blanca Loyal
  • Miriam Martinez
  • Kim Morgan-Benson
  • Sharon O’Neal
  • Susan Perez
  • Joanne Salas
  • Arlene Salazar
  • Lucy Velez
  • Graeme Wend-Walker